The Purpose of this Blog

If I have sent you this link, then you need to read this entire article. Please do not contact me or post another comment until you have done so.

It’s really sad that it has come to the point where I have to write a blog entry like this, but there are just too many idiots who are commenting on entries here as if this site were actually hosted by the thieves and miscreants who perpetrate this scam.

People are apparently not reading the heading at the top of the page, nor are they taking time to page through the thousands of examples of this scam, but are sending me their addresses and phones numbers and actually asking when and where they can get their money. Most of these come from the Indian subcontinent, where this scam has moved into the 21st century by attacking victims through SMS phone messages.

This is a SCAM. It’s technically known as the advance fee fraud scam, but more generally known as the Nigerian 419 scam, after the penal code of Nigeria that makes such activity illegal. This penal code is not enforced, obviously.

There is no money! You have not won! These people are thieves who are trying to steal money from you and you are helping them!

The way it works is this: You are informed that you have won a lottery, or that a person in a troubled nation has a fabulous sum of money, part of which can be yours if you help them move it into your country. When you respond, they will arrange details with you, and after several exchanges of correspondence, you will be told that the money is stopped for some reason and that they need you to make a payment to get it moving. This could be in the form of a tax, or a customs duty or transfer/shipping fee, and generally amounts to a couple hundred US dollars. When you pay this money, you will likely never hear from them again, although some of the more bold ones will keep corresponding in the hopes of getting you to pay even higher fees.
Look at the left side of the screen for some links to other websites that expose this fraud in more detail.

If you’re reading this link because I sent it to you in response to a comment you tried to post, then you are the very reason why this scam has survived for the last twenty years. You need to wake up and think! Why aren’t you asking yourself how you won a lottery that you never even entered? Why are there more than a thousand examples of this fraud right here on this page that all say essentially the same thing?

Follow some simple rules to keep yourself safe: NEVER post your personal information on a public forum. That includes address, e-mail and especially your phone number!

57 Responses to The Purpose of this Blog

  1. kumar says:

    One of my cousin got this kind of sms..she replied to that sms then the fraud team asked to follow several transactions..she also did all the transactions..finaly she came to know she was cheated by the fraud team..she invested a lot in this process…basiacaly she s from poor family backround,financially weak..she borrowed money frm othrs and pwn brokers too..she worried a lot..is there any way to get back the money? Or is there tak any action against them?…she has the receipt and other things whatver she pain through bank..now she afraid to go to police or other action..she says if i go to police name wil spoil…i dont know what to do..pls give suggest

    • Chances are that she will never see the money again. She should, however, go to the police. The local police will probably not be able to help her, but they will probably be able to point her to a national agency similar to the USA’s FBI who is no doubt investigating these crimes. Your cousin should not worry about spoiling her name. She’s already in debt for this. She is the victim of a crime. If she doesn’t report it, then the criminals are left free to find other victims just like her. If it was up to me I would have these people shot, because they feed off of the lowest income part of society that’s most likely to fall for a scam like this and least able to afford it, like your cousin.

      • DENNIS ESPINOSA says:

        OK I WILL DO THAT AND IM A RETIRED SOLDIER AND I TAKE OFFENSE OF BEING CALLED THAT COMMENT YOU SAID OK I GUESS ASSHOLES ARE LIKE OPINIONS EVERYONE HAS ONE RIGHT ITS ALL GOOD HAVE A NICE DAY THANK YOU FOR THE CRITIZEM OK SHE WENT THROUGH HABIB BANK TO TRY AND GET HER INHIERATANCE AND THE ARE CHARGING HER ALLOT OF MONEY TO GET IT THE GUY IS THE BANK MANAGER MR BUTTLER SO THATS THE GUY SHE IS DEALING WITH SO TRY NOT TO BE SO SARCASTIC FROM NOW ON OK. SINCERLY DENNIS ESPINOSA

        • So let me get this straight: You or your wife fell for this scam, and come to my website and still haven’t realized it’s a scam, since you apparently don’t take the time to read anything, ask me where your “inheritance” is (like it was ever your money, even if it wasn’t a scam), and then when I point out the obvious flaws in your thinking, you see fit to berate me and call me an asshole. . . .

          Sarcasm is subtle, but I see now that subtlety is wasted on someone who can’t even figure out how to turn off the caps lock key, so how about this: YOU ARE A FUCKING IDIOT!

          There, is that clear enough?

  2. THANK U MY FREIND SCRUFFY SC. 4 ALL UR DETAILS ABOUT Z GLOBAL THIEVES AND U SOMEWHAT AWARED ME. NEXT I WILL INFORM 2 ALL MY FAMILIES AND MY SOCIATIES ABOUT Z DRAMAS.
    “HULLUM NEGER LEBEGGO NEW” “muka dhagaa irratti biqile, qottoon hinmo’tu” jedhama. 4EVER I THANK ALL OF U, Z GOODS AND Z BADS. Z GOOD PPL SAVED ME AND Z BAD PPL MADE ME LINK WIZ U, FLY GLOBALY AND SHOWN ME Z WAY 2 CHALLANGE Z UNIVERSAL DISASTER. SO NO ONE CREATED UNREASONBLY. THANK U ALL!

  3. dom says:

    sooo..when do i get my winnings?i want to go buy a tv :)

  4. Pingback: Congratulation’s lucky winner for 2012 Nokia Promotion UK « Caught in the Act

  5. janardhan says:

    are you sure….. this is real

  6. Agu uchenna says:

    I got a text message saying that i won a prize in UK promo. Hw real is dis?

  7. Nawwaph says:

    http://translate.google.com
    شكرا شكرا شكرا على المعلومات الثمينة في حق هذا الرجل الذي لا أعلم ما سأفعل بدون تعليقاتكم المباركة.. و شكرا للمرة المليون

  8. Emenike Atuegbu says:

    I think UK goverment knows this people, thier address, phone numbers & their bad works. Pls UK must fine means to stop them spoiling the good name of United Kingdom. Should’n case you want their phone nos. & their address in london.

  9. karthikeyan says:

    pls tell me the procedure to get my prize. . i got online cheqe …hw i change in to my account….pls help me…

  10. realy i hv won 2 rupies

  11. Naushad khan says:

    Dear sir,
    you r right that frod peoples are doing there work well..but what can we do is this possible if that type of trouble is occure or chitters are trying to chhit us we complaint about them in police station. I knw i am aware about it but what about those people those are not so educated or smart..

  12. Manoj kumar yadav says:

    I got cheqe online in my ac.
    plz sugest me
    my cell no-[redacted]

  13. I got a money plz call me-99[redacted]

  14. Asif Ali says:

    Dear sir,
    I received such a sms and was asked to send my ID Proofs to nokiacares@nokia-office.com (+447014221290) which was told to me as the personal email id of Sir Bradley Anderson Powell. After giving my ID Proofs they emailed me that my winning prize of £750,000 Great British Pounds (G.B.P.) which is Rupees 6,01,84,544.98 INR including A Sony Vaio Laptop and 2Nokia Lumia 800 has already been scheduled for delivery to my region in Asia. And I was given a confidential code (Asia/Ind/Del/98319951**) and a TRACKING NUMBER: 10SAEC/NC5092
    [WEBSITE: http://www.statlanticspeedservices.com/online/%5D as it would be requested by thier delivery representative (Dr. Albert Thompson) before handovering the parcel to me. But at last they called me and told me that the parcel had been arrived to IGI airport (INDIA) but i had to make a custom clearance of Rs 18,950 to a personal account to get my prizes. That my suspicion aroused and I denied to pay any such amount. Thus I was saved being cheated by the fraud team. And more interesting “YOUR MOBILE NO:HAS WON 750,000 GBP IN THE 2012 NOKIA AWARD,FOR CLAIMS SEND NAME:ADDRESS:PHONE NO:EMAIL:TO SIR BRADLEY. nokian9@nokia-office.com +447014221290″ the same message was sent to my brother’s mobile number that very day. I warned my brother not to fell in the trap and thus he too was saved.
    And that very day I inform my local police describing whole act. But I know their are lots of people
    who has been or had been spoiled, and never got back their money or any such prizes.

    • sir i havr also recevied sms from a number. and sed my infirmation is that real of fake if fake then what can i do khow.i information on this email adress nokiaprize4@live.com

      • Why don’t you fucking READ the goddamned article above? Why the hell do you ask such stupid questions when it’s all explained in the article? What do you want me to do, repeat what I already JUST FUCKING SAID in the article above?

        Sheesh. It’s no wonder these scammers are still in business, with people as thick as you.

  15. ADELANI ABIODUN ADEBANJO says:

    my phone nos 080[redacted]

  16. xxxx denger more than blak cobra for winig sms

  17. Tauqeer says:

    i received this msg “CONGRAT!:UR MOBILE NO HAS WON 3 CRORE 60 LAKH INR, IN UK NOKIA ADVERT PROMO 2012 TO CLAIM SEND UR NAME,AGE , MOBILE NO.ADRESS & CITY TO:nokiadraw212@live.com” from
    NOKIA MOBILE PHONE COMPANY U.K 2012 PROMOTION.
    DEPT-NOKIA-WEB AVENUE STAMFORD BRIDGE ,
    SW1V 3DW LONDON ,UNITED KINGDOM,
    The Nokia 25th anniversary.
    THE NOKIA DELIVERY AGENT NAME IS MR:EDWARD SCOTT.
    CONGRATULATIONS ONCE AGAIN FROM NOKIA CO-OPERATIONS.BE INFORMED.
    Mr. Elizabeth Henderson.
    MD/coordinator Nokia 25th End of year anniversary mobile promotion.
    Email: nokiadraw212@live.com
    Tel: +4470-1005-9471
    …..but i sent my details to him by e-mail…then i got reply e-mail from him…they send me agent passport nd identity card in my e-mail…they gave me a phone call on my number..nd told me that to pay rs:18500 for custom duty charges..i know that its a scam……but .wat i do? can u help me?

  18. DEMI-GOD DEEBS says:

    ABSOLUTE RETARDS.. Clearly The Products Of A Long Line, And Generations Of INCEST Relationships.. CLEARLY… ( If I Was You SCRUFF, Id Give Up On The Fucking Morons ).. LOL… DEMI-GOD DEEBS of OZ..

  19. debjyoti das says:

    sir i was informed from nokia office from the number +911165886328 that i was selected as the lucky winner for 2012 Nokia Promotion UK. But there is no mail form them in my gmail account [redacted]@gmail.com.plz verify this and inform me about this i will be grateful to u my phone number is 90[redacted]..have a nice day

  20. yaar mara number par 100000 ka msg

  21. Santram says:

    I am winner your asents froud me not sand my mony .plz inqairi.plzzzz

  22. sanjay jagadale says:

    muze bi lagi award o log kahate hai ki dilhi airport pe 15500 dijiye

  23. Udy says:

    Pls my friend got an e-mail from nokia award 2012 asking him that he has won 250..000. Pls tell me is it real or fake. Because they asked him to come over to U.K to claim his prize. Pls reply through my e-mail. Thank you.

  24. Daniel says:

    How can i get my money

  25. Daniel says:

    They say i won €60000

  26. Owch its scery nd apolin cox I also got a text rm nokia dix morning askin me to snd ma details tru dix website…..-s dix real pls

  27. ajetunmobi sodiq says:

    good lurky

  28. sanchit says:

    scaaam
    big scam
    no money

  29. Ankesh namdev says:

    as per your kind information i have send you my detail now send some gift

  30. Winner amount:£1000000usd
    Batchnumber :NK 74/44319/home
    Pin number : * 194 *#
    Registration number : nk/02_05 opr442_rapt
    Is true or fals

  31. bhabutaram prajapati says:

    I .Have received many mails from coca cola , nokia and shell oil industry for lottery .

  32. Pradeep kumar says:

    Mere mobil par ye msg aya ha

  33. Afroz Ahmad says:

    Kya ye such me fake

  34. sayed aquib shah says:

    meray phone par yai msg aaia hai

  35. saurabh says:

    mujhe bhi btao ye farji work se no.[redacted]

  36. satish says:

    i have this massage also and he giving me deposit Ten Thousand, Three Hundred India Rupees (10,300 INR) for the Government tax clearance duty and registration charges

  37. melody says:

    haha….ive been in contact with them..and tod me to deposit an amount of 25000 rupees…SCAMMERS FUCk OFF

  38. Subas Rai says:

    i got email for winner price.how to clam
    My number +918167075379[redacted]

Leave a comment